art history, history, share the wealth, textile history

Rrrrrrrresearch!

number-2084188_640NE OF THE things I love doing the most in my spare time is self-educating.  Lately I’ve been captivated by the history of spinning, weaving, etc. as well as the Tarim Mummies.  This has led to a mini-explosion of archaeology research in my kitchen office.  I may be getting fixated!

I was looking though facebook one day when I saw a video by the Danish National Research Foundation’s Centre for Textile Research  (affiliated with the University of Copenhagen).  I started trawling through this page, seeing if there was anything I could glean for my own use.  Mostly, I found descriptions of courses I’d love to take.  Eventually I made my way to the publications page and found the archives of the Archaeological Textiles Review, which lists its (English language) issues from 1985-2015 as FREE PDFs.  Oh my good lord…..

This is very generous of them!  By clicking that last link, you can go right to the archive and read to you’re heart’s content.  There is also an anthology of publications from their Textiles and the Medieval Economy title, available in bound form (currently 12.95 euros down from 35…so I may get on that).

So please join me in nerding out at this great resource!!

Leave a Reply

